Food Safety Tips

Did you know that: 

  • the meats at the bottom in the Meat Dept of your grocery store were colder and therefore may have fewer bacteria on them?
  • the back and bottom of your refrigerator were the coldest spots?

Guess it’s time to remove all those half filled bottles of jams and maynaise in the back so I have room for my chicken thighs.

Read more here

4 Responses to Food Safety Tips

  1. Pauline says:

    I can personally vouch for this one. My refridgerator is so old, that the seals around the doors are falling off, and the back of the refridgerator is actually FREEZING my food. Last week we bought a bright reddish-pink piece of juicy watermelon, only to have it ruined by the frigid temperature when it was inadvertently pushed to the back of the dreaded appliance by my son. If the back of your refridgerator is so cold that it is freezing the food, I hope it’s a sign of impending death. I’ve been asking for a new refridgerator for some time now, and my penny-pinching husband won’t give in. Please don’t share this germ tidbit with him, or he’ll use it as evidence against me in an appliance store!

  2. jennifer400 says:

    Could you store your ice cream in the back of your refrigerator? More room for ice cream sounds good!

  3. Pauline says:

    I think it would actually work, and yes, more room for ice cream is a bonus!

    By the way, are there germs in mold? Mold isn’t a germ, right? I have mold in some of the recesses of the door seals and the drain hole in the bottom. How concerned should I be, except for regularly cleaning the dreaded stuff?

  4. jennifer400 says:

    Molds are bacteria that have formed colonies. Some are quite dangerous. Don’t breath them and it’s better if you clean them out with a strong cleaner. Bleach is good. It’s also a good idea to wear gloves and use paper towels you can throw away. You can starve bacteria by making sure things are dry. I suppose that might be hard for a door seal.

Leave a Reply

