Restaurant Cleanliness

I just returned from dinner with my husband.  In this particular restaurant, which was quite good, I had a great view of the kitchen.

I watched an employee roll up the rubber mat that covers the kitchen floor and then sweep.  This was prime dinning time mind you, and he’s sweeping!  How many germs were kicked up into the air from his sweeping?

I thought sweeping was supposed to be done at the end of the night.

4 Responses to Restaurant Cleanliness

  1. exitintelligence says:

    Fearing “germs” is what has caused an increase in mutations of bacteria and virii to become more treatment-resistant.

  2. jennifer400 says:

    Dear Exitintelligence,
    You make an excellent point. Still, I don’t want a stray hair or dust ball floating towards my otherwise perfect humus.

  3. Michael says:

    Thought I would add my two cents having had my fair share of restaurant experience. Sweeping under the mats generally takes place at the end of each busboy’s shift or when the manager notices that you aren’t working hard enough and must quickly come up with something mundane for you to do. As a retired bus boy I can say that I would much rather sweep under the mats once at the end of the night, rather than the fifteen plus times normally required. But if we are truly concerned with germs and dirt I shutter to think what those floors would look like if they weren’t swept multiple times throughout the course of the evening. You’d need a bulldozer to clear away all of the bits of half eaten food and dirt from the servers shoes, not to mention a water cannon to spray away all of the spilled drinks. It would be a catastrophe. So rather than having the germs float gingerly through the air, they’d be mutating and gathering force for an all out assault on your fried falafel and stuffed grape leaves before they even reach your table.

  4. jennifer400 says:

    I can’t get the image of gingerly floating microbes out of my head. I may never go out to eat again. I know, those microbes are floating around in my kitchen too. But they’re MY microbes.

Leave a Reply

