12 Steps to Staying Healthy This Winter

With a few tips, (that you have to actually perform) you can decrease your chances of getting sick this winter.  Like, wash your hands, sneeze in your sleeve, drink fluids and eat vegetables.  Strangely enough, the tips did not include leaving your familiy for a vacation in Tahiti.

6 Responses to 12 Steps to Staying Healthy This Winter

  1. cynthiacloskey says:

    I like that “use the sauna” rule. I would especially like it if I could spend a week or so at the spa at Nemacolin.

    Years back, I had a co-worker who went out of his way to play outdoor sports — ultimate frisbee, soccer — when he had a cold. We thought he was crazy (and he kind of was), but one of the tips on the list is to take aerobic exercise. Interesting.

  2. jennifer400 says:

    So I wonder if your (sort of) crazy friend has had fewer colds over the years. I agree, with the take a sauna rule. Take a suana–in the Carribean, on a cruise, etc.

  3. Bix says:

    Can I sneeze into my scarf? I did. I sneezed into my scarf. Over and over … sneeze, sneeze, sneeze. That scarf was one incubation plate when I was done with it!

  4. jennifer400 says:

    Bix, Yes, you can sneeze into your scarf. I approve. What material is the scraf made from? Can you now take it to the cleaners for cleaning, or use soap and water on it?

  5. Bix says:

    Some synthetic, probably polyester. I threw it in the washing machine. I now fear cross contamination from my washing machine to other clothes. Well, I was going to say “just kidding”, but do viruses survive a wash and spin? My hot water doesn’t get scalding hot.

  6. jennifer400 says:

    Viruses are different than bacteria. But I think once you wash them you’re in the clear.

Leave a Reply

